Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic

Michelle Hébert

$22.95 $22.95

I will be in stock soon

ISBN: 9781774712740

Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic

  Author:   Michelle Hébert    
  Publisher:  Nimbus Publishing Limited

A darkly humorous family saga set in Nova Scotia about a young woman coming of age in a family that believes it’s cursed, for fans of Emma Straub and Lesley Crewe.

Kitten Love’s family is haunted by the memory of her teenaged aunt, Nerida, who died just days before Kitten’s birth in 1970. Her mother, Queena, believes the family is cursed, and she’s determined not to let disaster strike again. She won’t let Kitten out of her sight—especially to visit the beaches that surround the town. She’s built a bomb shelter to protect against Soviet attack, and she’s desperate to protect her husband, Stubby, from the fatal and mysterious Love Heart.

Kitten thinks she knows how to defeat their curse: magic. But when protection spells and clues from tarot cards aren’t enough to save Stubby, Kitten turns her back on the things that make her life magical, and Queena turns her back on reality. She preserves everything as it was the day Stubby died in 1987—from the gold shag rug in the bathroom to the Duran Duran posters in Kitten’s room. Kitten, herself, is forbidden to change.

Kitten tastes freedom when she falls in love and moves to British Columbia, but reinventing herself without the curse is harder than she expects. Tragedy and her own reliance on magical thinking eventually lead her back home to Queena, her brother Thom, and Aunt Bunny, who are equally stuck in their pasts. When tarot cards begin mysteriously showing up in her room, warning of a betrayal and encouraging an unlikely romance, she’s certain someone is watching her. Could the heartbreak that almost destroyed Kitten’s family be the very thing that helps them move on?

A darkly humorous family saga woven around tarot cards and a mixtape of ’80s songs, Every Little Thing She Does is Magic is a heady mix of music, ghosts, love, and nostalgia.

Details and Specs
ISBN associated with this title: 9781774712740
Item NB1670
PublisherNimbus Publishing Limited
PublisherNimbus Publishing Limited
Published on May 7 2024
Language ENG
Pages 344
Format Paperback
Dimensions8.5(in) x 5.5(in)
Shipping weight0(g)
Status NOT YET PUBLISHED
Michelle Hébert is a journalist and social worker. She's completing an MFA in creative nonfiction from the University of King's College, and studies tarot on the side. Her writing has appeared in Canadian and American magazines, and she's created audio essays and documentaries for CBC radio. She gives speeches and workshops about mental health and the development of social welfare in Canada, but she?s happiest talking about cats, books, beaches, and '80s music. Michelle has lived across Canada, but makes her home in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with several cats, a dog, and two amazing young humans. Visit her at michellehebertwrites.com.