Two More Solitudes

Sheldon Currie

$22.95 $22.95

ISBN: 9781897426470

Two More Solitudes

  Author:   Sheldon Currie    
  Publisher:  Pottersfield Press

Sheldon Currie plumbs new depths in this novel inspired by Hugh MacLennan’s Two Solitudes. Ian MacDonald is searching for himself, for a career, for home, and for redemption. Yet Ian, a man with a talent for baseball, seems to use “the suicide pitch” with rather unerring aim as he runs from one woman to another. Set in both Nova Scotia and Quebec, Currie’s novel follows Ian’s quest through his encounters with a torch-singing nun, an old flame, and a woman who seeks more than friendship.As Ian struggles to find his place, for a time literally not knowing who he is, Currie guides readers through a journey full of eccentric but fully human characters, all trying to live in worlds that do not always accommodate their dreams and desires. Two More Solitudes resonates with the burdens of memory, disappointment, uncertainty, death – and most particularly with the pleasures and pains of life itself. At times funny and poignant, Two More Solitudes is also a rich and subtle exploration of how Ian and those around him find their way – in the world, with themselves, and with others.

Details and Specs
ISBN associated with this title: 9781897426470
Item PC0215
PublisherPottersfield Press
PublisherPottersfield Press
Published on April 3 2013
Language eng
Pages 240
Format Paperback
Dimensions8.5(in) x 5.5(in)
Shipping weight305(g)
Born in Reserve Mines, Cape Breton, Sheldon Currie is professor emeritus at St. Francis Xavier University and author of short stories, novels, and plays. Probably his most widely known work is The Glace Bay Miners’ Museum, which was also adapted for radio and stage plays, and made into the critically acclaimed film Margaret’s Museum, starring Helena Bonham Carter. In his varied career, Sheldon has also served in the RAF and as fiction editor of The Antigonish Review. His play Lauchie, Liza and Rory won the 2004 Merritt Award for best play by a Nova Scotia writer. Down the Coaltown Road, first published in 2002, was nominated for the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction.