Withdrawal Symptoms

William Walden

$15.00 $15.00

Quantity:
Browse Wishlist
ISBN: 9781933480015
ITEM: BU0003 Categories: , Tags: , , , ,

Withdrawal Symptoms

Light Verse for All Weights

  Author:   William Walden    
  Publisher:  Bunim & Bannigan

Over the past fifty years William Walden’s poems-collected here for the first time-have been widely published in the United States and England. In the tradition of Ogden Nash, Walden appeals to both literary and popular sensibilities. His poems elevate the humble and deflate the pompous, celebrate quotidian truths and debunk accepted ones. Incisive and humorous, Walden is a conversational and companionable poet, a wry observer who brings everyman’s eyes and ears to the complexities of modern life and culture while offering a wink and a nod to the literati. A native of New York City, Walden was on the editorial staff of The New Yorker from 1942 to 1983. His verse has appeared in a wide variety of publications, including Punch, The New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly, Saturday Evening Post, The New York Times, The Herald Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, Look, Poetry, Georgia Review, and Indiana Review. In this debut collection Walden delights with a splendid repertoire of self-effacing thoughts, mordant reflections, and puckish jabs on a variety of topics: the conundrum of gender and relationships, the fruits and ravages of time, the vexations of travel, the ordeal of aging and death, the pretentiousness of art and literature, the joys of language and word play, and many other subjects weighty and whimsical.

Details and Specs
ISBN associated with this title: 9781933480015
Item BU0003
PublisherBunim & Bannigan
PublisherBunim & Bannigan
Published on May 29 2012
Language eng
Pages 112
Format Paperback
Dimensions9(in) x 6(in)
Shipping weight220(g)
Status ACTIVE TITLE
A Native o New York City, Walden was on the editorial staff of The New Yorker from 1942 to 1983. In this debut collection Walden delights with a splendid repertoire of self-inflecting thoughts, mordant reflections, and puckish jabs on a variety of topics: the conundrum of gender and relationships, the fruits and ravages of time, the vexations of travel, the ordeal of aging and death, the pretentiousness of art and literature, the joys of language and word play, and many other subjects weighty and whimsical.